I’m Afraid Of Being Black In America!!!

Standard

Safi Scarves 3

For the first time in my life, I’m afraid to be Black…
…everything about who I am is under fierce attack.

I’m worried that my Mother will have to see me in a Casket…
…body mutilated like Emmett Till: a tragedy that’s so drastic.

I’m afraid that one day I’ll be blown away…
…by a Police-Officer’s Gun and at any day.

I’m apprehensive that I’ll just be another Black-Man killed in the Streets…
…and that my murderers will get away with it, and continue walkin da Beats.

It’s more likely that I’ll be killed by Cops than by ISIS…
…we live in a World where we just want to deny this.

Everyone wants to pretend that equality is here…
…tell that to Black-Men who live in constant fear.

Whether we’re Gangster or Corporate, it don’t matter…
…cooperating makes Police draw their weapons faster.

Why must Society make Others feel…
…that I do nothing but rob and steal?

Why are the Police trained to automatically view me as a Criminal?
The Racism of the 60’s resurfaced from its historical subliminal.

What are we supposed to do; how do we fight back?
The load is too heavy: I feel that I’m about to snap.

Gareth Bryant/2016

Leave a Reply

