The Stillness of Loneliness:

Standard

Pitch black, quiet…nothing moves, it’s silent.
Darkness covers the Sky as I tread defiant.

I once was beloved, now I am so hated.
At one time victorious, now so defeated.

Loneliness fills all of my mind with agony.
Still as a stagnant River frozen by apathy.

Around many, yet distant from all.
None to feel my pain, hear my call.

Looking for closeness with anyone.
What a test for me, to be so alone.

Oftentimes, I feel dead, yearning for the free-flow of Life.
No worries about foes or dangers, not even fears of strife.

Alas, the irony is that there’s a morbid comfort in Obscurity.
It sometimes protects us from self-torture & offers security.
Gareth Bryant/2015

Leave a Reply

