The Day I saw the Angels move the Clouds:

Standard

On a most sweltering day, my mind began to say, “When will this battering heat ever end?”…

…Now, don’t get me wrong: I love the Summer just as any other, but the heat was very intense…

As I endured the hot winds from the Sun, I wondered, “How will the weather break?”…
It had poured the day before, so it would be no big deal to rain another instance…

Just as I was on route to another destination, I saw & felt water from the heavens, yet no clouds spewing them.
I knew, without any shadow of a doubt, this Sun-Shower was a miracle from Allah: all Praise is due to Him.

Then, some time later, around 6 or 7, this dark-grayish glow began to encompass all that the eye can see.
I couldn’t believe what I was seeing: it switched from day to night: was this for real, or was it just me?

It became so deary & stark, so dense & dark, that one could only think a raging flood was soon on its way.
Yet, Allah, above all things, gave NYC a break and told His Angels to push these clouds off-course today.

It was like I could actually see the Angels’ wings, doing things I’ve never seen before.
The different directions these Storm-Clouds were diverted to left me amazed, shaken to my core.

The Thunder, the Lightning, my heart pulsing, my soul crying…
…not knowing whether I’d be drenched or struck, frightening…

…This storm from yonder west, couldn’t resist the power of the Angels…
…when told by Allah, His minions moved clouds in all types of angles…

…All seemed clear, until another storm cloud grouping appeared…
…this time the gray-hued front spread even wider across the Sky…

…I was baffled at another storm coming , after one had already passed…
…I had thought it was over: Allah had other plans and no one knew why…

…Then, just as these clouds covered the Sky, the Rain fiercely came…
…washing & wiping-out whole blocks: no one on the streets to remain…

…And, even though the whole night drenched, by a storm seen for miles…
…I will always remember the day in which I saw the Angels move the Clouds.

Gareth Bryant/2014

One response »

Leave a Reply

