“My Poetic-Proposal to my Lord”

Standard

gareth-bryant-eid-pics-23.jpg

Oh, Allah:

Let me remember you when I am both happy and sad…
…regardless to whether I am calm or stark raving mad.

Allow me to be ever thankful for any test which you’ve set forth in my path…
…for me never to take Your mercy for granted, that I never earn Your wrath.

Have me in Your noble-service, by constantly being in the service of the Other…
…to view every Human, regardless of their creed, as my sister and my brother.

Give me a clean heart, full of Faith, which will never doubt, reject Your existence…
…shower me with Your ultimate graces, so that I always thank you via repentance.

Make me a Warrior, for Your pleasure: struggling on & off the battlefield…
…let me be skillful & worthy enough to spread mercy & the power to heal.

Let me be of those whom the People feel safe around…
…that I have the ability to turn all frowns upside down.

Let it be I who bring smiles to the faces of the miserable…
…let it be I who give strength to the weak, meek & feeble.

Let not my days be done, lest I can guide People to Islam…
…that Your name be praised, by every man & in every land.

Gareth Bryant/2014

Leave a Reply

