Gareth Bryant vs. Humza Oza:

Standard

Author’s Note:
Every month I’ll be conducting a Poetic-Challenge, challenging various poets, whom I personally know/interact with, just for the sake of sharpening/improving my own poetry, general-goodwill, respect for my fellow “Brethren of the Paper & Pen”, and to just see who from among us has the best “Poetry-Skillz”…Every month, I’ll be picking a brand-new Poetic-Challenger, via Facebook/Twitter, to compete with. This month, it’s Humza Oza. Next month, it could very well be anyone of you. So, just be prepared, with some fresh-rhymes.

Topic: Honesty

Gareth Bryant

Gareth Bryant

I’m not the Man You think You see:

When no one’s around, no one to hear the ways my inside voice sounds…
…There I am, in the dark, far apart from others, with only me & my wounds.

These scars of my heart that bleed not red blood, but, crimson emotion…
…I often think of my past hopes ruined, as if shrapnel from an explosion.

The complexities of my self-made travesties tend to keep me up all-night…
…Regretting what I didn’t do or should’ve done, only intensifies my plight.

From the surface, you out there are only exposed to the glamour & glare…
…But, when I’m alone, what I see in front of me, in the mirror, I can’t bear.

I notice the ugliness of what I work so hard to keep hidden from public-view…
The radiance of my face is make-up, that I just use, to hide the real me from you.

My true self is nothing how I portray it to be; there’s so much I’m not happy with…
…Sometimes, it feels like everyone’s just against me, even loved-ones and kith.

But, then again, no one who’s around really wants to see the real you…
…It reminds them of the skeletons in their closets that make them blue.

It’s an uncomfortable reminder of how fake they are…
…They have distanced themselves, from truth, so far.

People often despise in others what they really see within themselves…
…Then they deny truth, which is embedded in the heart, where it dwells.

But, that’s the way the reality of the World works…
…Integrity, honesty, sincerity don’t have any perks.

Gareth Bryant/2013

Humza Oza

Humza Oza

Honesty defined:

More important it is for you

The things you say, the things you do

Greater than the majestic sea

The greatest thing for you or me

All on its own it has the power to save you

Its a simple, golden, all encompassing value

It has the power to help heal nations

Its one of the easiest ways to salvation

How it does this I’ll demonstrate

Lets say you have something bad to do

Go to some place of sin or do something wrong

Just imagine now your father you run in to

And he asks “My son, where were you?”

Just think if you stopped lying

And told him the truth

He’d probably weep, start crying

That would be to sins committed by you

But if you intend to be honest all along

It has the strength to emancipate

It is greater than the majestic sea

The simple concept of Honesty.

Humza Oza/2013

3 responses »

  1. A smiling face
    Unblinking eye
    The colors of sunrise
    Warming, infusing
    The letters of moment
    Until red-hot,
    They boil over and
    Spill into the ineffable space
    Between two persons
    Who have nothing to hide
    Nothing to hide
    Because all that can be known
    Is known
    And all that can’t be known
    Is embraced for what it is
    The heart of faith
    Of trust
    Of wordless recognition
    That all is well,
    All is well:
    That truth has indeed brought freedom
    From fear
    And opened a space
    So great and wide
    That this sunrise love
    Can light the dark places
    And show forth the truth
    That makes shadows fade
    Until there is only light,
    Only light.

Leave a Reply

