Poetic-Challenge: Gareth Bryant vs. Neghena Hamidi

Standard

Author’s Note:
Every month I’ll be conducting a Poetic-Challenge, challenging various poets, whom I personally know/interact with, just for the sake of sharpening/improving my own poetry, general-goodwill, respect for my fellow “Brethren of the Paper & Pen”, and to just see who from among us has the best “Poetry-Skillz”…Every month, I’ll be picking a brand-new Poetic-Challenger, via Facebook/Twitter, to compete with. This month, it’s Neghena Hamidi. Next month, it could very well be anyone of you. So, just be prepared, with some fresh-rhymes.

Topic: Temptation

Gareth Bryant

Gareth Bryant

“Beware what You allow Yourself to succumb to”

I pretend that Temptation doesn’t affect me here…
…Reality always sets-in whenever she comes near.

…Then, I’m a mess: I’m like a pool of putty when I realize I’m not in control…
…How can she have me round her finger, while she’s so young & I’m so old?

I never expected that I’d be entranced, by something so obvious…
…Yet, that’s the nature of Man: we’re victims to clear distractions.

All that I wanted was to have her in my arms,my hands in her hair…
…She smelled of fragrances of flowers, blowing in the Summer air.

I totally yearned for her young, delicate, tender, fresh, flesh…
…She was more enjoyable than mid-day High School recess.

Little did I even realize that I had fooled myself, into thinking that I was strong enough…
…I was just bent on having her in my arms, I had no care of consequence, gettin’ caught.

But, then, she got pregnant: she told me at 4-months that she’s gonna keep it…
…There was nothing for me to say, except the pathetic cry of, “God, damn it!!!”

I didn’t want a bastard-child, but, I never wanted to marry her…
…My world was turned upside-down, as if life were an utter blur.

Verily, the fool was I, to even have the nerve to assume that Allah wouldn’t hold me to task…
…When Temptation grabs you, you’ve got to break loose & get away, or else no turning back.

This isn’t anyone’s fault: I had purposely made myself too blind to see…
…I, alone, am to blame, for not being the best Muslim, I know I can be.

This why we ought to listen to Allah, at once, the very 1st-time…
…Just as that ol’-sayin’ goes, “A hard Head makes a soft Behind.”.

We never think of the price we must pay, for our sinful enjoyment and play…
…We always make ourselves ignore that Accountability will have its own day.

We must safeguard all things that we hold dear…
…Integrity, shame, conscience, a heart that’s clear.

So, the lesson here is to learn from my most obvious error…

…Stop indulging in things which only promote sinful-pleasure.

Only then, can you ever hope to survive in this savage desire-riddled existence…
…We have to constantly depend upon Allah & thereafter, make true Repentance.

Then, we must always try to stay away, from the blissful trinkets of the Mundane, which makes us go stray…
…Because, before we know it, we’ll all be forced to stand before our Lord, to show cause, on Judgement-Day.

Gareth Bryant/2013

Neghena Hamidi

Neghena Hamidi

“Self-Enticement=Self-Indictment”

He loved his desires just like a fat boy loves cake
The only difference is cake doesn’t leave him baked
In a corner
At his friends house waiting to I escape
From his so called problems in the world with one blunt to eradicate
what he deemed as complicated
One puff cleaned that slate
but he goes home and begins to contemplate
The life style he adopted
due to the battle with his Nafs
Nafs
Jihad al Akbar but truly he has loss
Time to retain himself
From the things he should have refrained
After all he’s a hafez. And he never thinks in vain
Smoking occasionally. Flirting frequently. What’s the problem though this doesn’t make him insane
But “verily the Nafs incites evil”(12:53)
Just like how Zulaykha caused a chaotic upheaval
With Yusuf in prison
because winning the battle with his Nafs was considered treason
We all become good again
Because in the end, the heavens are where we want to descend
he looks at his mistakes thinking about how we will answer for in the end
Blunts. Drinks and girls.
Ain’t worth his time when it comes to making amends
With his Nafs. His conscious. His soul.
he can’t risk having his temptations act like burning coal
Placed on his heart
Creating this empty space reserved for evil. A huge hole.
Tempted. He let that Marlboro sit on his desk unlit
Realizing, spiritually that temptation leads to a life unfit
For him to lead given his time and space
After all people look up to him, he doesn’t  want to lose face.
Wait lose face? In front of people? Because he’s the hafez of Quran. Man. Check your intentions because with that mentality you got it all wrong,
Lit those cigarettes if that is your main concern.
let those blunts burn and burn.
but worry about the opinion of your creator. That’s one thing you must learn.
tempted to break your habits for society? If that’s what you yearn
By all means stop the bad things in your life due to that main concern.
But adapting to good because of people will surely lit a fire in track of evil.
Because you can adapt to bad so easily
The pattern is infinite. It Will go on endlessly.
People change. So will you.
In the end you are left to choose
The path of good? Or the path that’s disapproved?
So tempted to follow their league
Even though it’s against your core beliefs
Fluctuating in what’s pure and what’s obscene
Believe me it’s common
all you need is some guidance
but one request before you take  actions even further
Recheck your intentions and make sure it’s for the Preserver

Neghena Hamidi/2013

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

