Aside

Somali Flag pic

Author’s note:

Here’s another great anonymous piece, about exploitation:

“Sorry to buck the trend, my activist friend.

But your activ-isms have created schisms in my land.

 

Reminds us of days gone by.

As your ancestor’s ships arrived.

On our shores with the good book in hand.

We are not obliged to match the size of the garments you cast upon us.

 

We are not designed to conform to your fetishes S&M.

We don’t intend to bite the hand that feeds us.

But forgive us We may have lost our appetite.

A long time ago, you enter my dry windless summer.

 

A land for you of infinite drama intervening, hunting for the killer in the wood.

Strange that you should have such swings of mood.

Forgive me for the bitterness swirling in my spleen.

Your cash flows like our tranquil streams.

 

Fulfilling the wildest dreams of our real tormentors.

Our Kings and Queens Send in the troops In endless postcolonial loops.

Like Black Hawk Dawn and Apocalypse .

Now Let’s shoot some hoops in HD and together vow Death to poverty, death to crime.

Time to change the world one RT at a time.

 

You raise awareness?

But what of fairness?

 

Read, watch, click, send In an over-saturated.

Online wasteland, and millions more informed.

 

What if your history was deformed?

Yet still, my continent, to you is but a country.

You maliciously let the internet set the bounty.

 

From ABC to ICC Only because you love me.

But if you love me, why don’t you ask me what I think?

Or do you fear that I, from the fountain, shall too deeply drink?

 

Sorry to buck the trend, my activist friend.

But your activ-isms have created schisms in my land.

 

Forgive me my beloved rebellious bird.

Your voice, unshackled, deserves to be heard.

 

But while you explore our forbidden fruits.

Take me as an equal, from the leaves to the branch, to the trunk, to the roots.”

Gareth Bryant/2013

The Ballad of Somalia:

Leave a Reply

