“Mirage”:

Standard

Tasneem Aljayyousi pic

How foolish it is to fall in love with a mirage.

And every day I do.

Desperately wanting to quench the thirst of my heart with a lover’s tune.

Expectations of awakening the passion I’ve dreamed of.

But poison is what this infatuation reeks of.

Spending days, months and years searching for the missing piece.

Telling myself, “Once I get it, my soul will finally know peace”.

Longing for something I know isn’t there.

Reaching out to touch it, only feeling air.

Returning like a dethroned king to the chambers of my mind.

Trying to make sense of what I couldn’t find.

The agony of painting a scene with desire as my eyes.

The torture of reality as my heart slowly dies.

How foolish it is to fall in love with a mirage.

And every day I do.

Tasneem Aljayyousi/2013

Desperately wanting to quench the thirst of my heart with a lover’s tune.

Leave a Reply

