The Power of Generosity!!!

Standard

Jonathan Parks pic

 

Author’s note:

This article has been written by my good-brother, my good-friend, Jonathan Markis, who has invested a lot of his own time & resources, for a cause & movement that I take very seriously, as I, myself, have invested a lot personally to this same exact cause. I am very happy that he has thus chosen to write an article, for my blog, to demonstrate through the power of words, how important what he’s advocating truly is.

I’d like to share with you a little bit I’ve learned about the importance of helping others. Sometimes it takes a tragedy to bring us to a point in our lives to do things that others may benefit from InshAllah. In this case, I am referring to the importance of donating blood. Did you know that by one person donating, that person can save three lives?

I want to share now 9 reasons why you should donate, if you don’t already:

1. Blood transfusions saves life.

2.There’s no substitute for human blood.

3. Every three seconds, someone needs a blood transfusion.

4. About 60% of the population are eligible to donate blood, yet less than 5% do.

5. You’ll make your community a safer place.

6. Fulfills your desire to “Give back” to the community.

7. You’ll receive a mini physical (blood pressure, temperature, iron level).

8. You’ll learn your blood type.

9. Its safe, simple, and it saves lives.

I hope that these 9 reasons are motivating enough for each and everyone of you to donate, or at least, at the minimum, encourage others to donate. I would like to give some Islamic evidence on the importance of donating blood but the point of giving and receiving InshAllah. The Quran says that to save all humanity (Quran 5:32) And Allah says “Oh no soul does Allah place a burden greater than it can bear (Al-Baqarah, 286), the principal of fiqh states “Necessity makes prohibition lawful” (See Nujaym, Al-Ashbah wa Al-Naza’ir, P. 85)

The messenger of Allah (pbuh) advised the people of Urayna to consume the urine and milk of the camels due to them being affected by the climate of Madina (see Sahih Al-Bakhari, No.23)
I would like to share my story now for the reason I got involved in organizing blood drives I like to call Miracle Comeback. On August 3rd 2009, my two sons Elijah (16 years at the time) and Rasheed (13 years old at the time) were riding their bicycles late at night. This night would change many lives forever. My son Elijah at the intersection of South 16th street and Greenfield avenue decided to take his chances and ride his bicycle thru a changing red light and made it safe to the other side, Rasheed wasn’t so lucky. Rasheed stayed back with his friend Justin, but decided to ride thru the standing red light and didn’t make it to the other side. Rasheed was hit and run over by another Suv. The police report stated my son was in “fatal” accident. I immediately got on the hospital computer and asked my family and Facebook friends to make Dua for my son. Here is my exact email that I sent ..
“Salam, at around 11p.m. on 8-3-09 my son Rasheed who be 13 years old in 2 weeks InshAllah was hit by a truck while on his bicycle and is in serious condition with internal bleeding in his stomach, Sorry just got back from speaking with the surgeons and he is in very serious conditions. One of his kidneys were removed and half his liver from the impact. I am asking all to pray for my son that he survives and  if he does not that he goes to Jennah/Heaven, InshAllah God willing, thanks much”.

Once I got to see my son I was told that he had a very small chance to survive and I was also told, that if he does survive, he wont be the same. My son in total, lost; 1 kidney, ½ his liver, broke his liver, crushed 1 lung and lost 46 pints of blood in surgery. Saying this , my sons Dua’s were answered and my son went home on August 25th,2009 and started school only one week late on September 9th,2009. Today my son is living a totally normal life without any side effects Alhumdulilah. My sons Miracle of life inspired me to have a website created called www.miraclecomeback.com.

On my website you can see the many past updates to the new ones. I’ve organized 8 blood drives so far and will be working on my 9th one soon called ‘Miracle Comeback 9’ and this one will include my son Rasheed. It will be called ‘Giving Back’ as he for the first time will donate InshAllah. Anyone interested in organizing any Blood drives in your city and state? Please contact me at bilalmarkis@yahoo.com if interested. I would post this on my site. Don’t wait till something happens to you or someone you know before you decide its important. JazakAllah, your brother Jonathan Markis.

Jonathan Markis/2013

Leave a Reply

