Start looking past the Surface:

Standard

Don’t assume that I’m a Rapper, just because I wear Jeans & a T-Shirt.
Don’t just look at the length of my beard and just think I’m out of work.

Please…do not assume that, because the country I am from sounds exotic, I can fly a magic-carpet.
Why do you judge people you do not know? Let me explain to you why I wear my native garment.

Even though I grew up in an urban environment, I’m not a drug-dealer.
You would never know that I could be your child’s mentor or teacher.

Even though I’ve got some tattoos, I don’t have to be a gang-member.
We all have skeletons in our closets; so, be kind to me, be a lil’ tender.

Me speaking a different language does not mean that I had hopped over a border.
We don’t all just work at fast-food joints & restaurants, ready to take your order.

Just because I don’t work on Wall Street doesn’t mean that I am on Welfare.
Just because my mother raised me does not mean that my father did not care.

Don’t presume that because I’ve got slanted-eyes that I can cook fried-rice.
Don’t just think that, because I grew up in the hood, I’m not able to be nice.

Think not that just because I’m from a different place that I’m into building-bombing.
Think not that, because my skin-color isn’t like yours, I’m into shooting and robbing.

We all must take the time to look beyond the physical, the superficial.
We need to realize that our variations are what make all of us special.

It is only the internal, and not the external, that defines the quality of any Human being.
When you look skin-deep, we are the same, created by Allah, the Lord of everything.

Gareth Bryant/2012

Leave a Reply

