The Muslims need Self-Representation!!!

Standard

I’m takin’ back my voice!!!

Don’t speak for me.
I’m a man and free.

My religion doesn’t give hatemongers the credence to silence me.
Having a beard is not a license to detain me, for an hour or three.

My Arabic tongue shouldn’t be a reason to be doomed, living a life of the falsely-accused.
This pain, of living with Islamophobia, hurts worse than that of a lung punctured & bruised.

Neither my sister, nor mother, are not victims, just because they chose to cover their body.
They wear Hijab in order to please Allah, their creator, and it makes them proud & happy.

I have with me only one, single weapon.
It has now become a prized-possession.

I have my own voice.
With it, I make noise.

It states proudly, to the world, that Islam does not oppress.
How our women do not have to conform to immoral-dress.

How our men don’t have to hurt someone to gain respect.
It’s part of our faith, and duty, to serve, as well as protect.

It tells everyone, everywhere, that we will not take attacks lying-down.
Islam won’t stop spreading, until it reaches every home & every town.

My voice verbally affirms who I am.
It’s time for you & I to take a stand.

Gareth Bryant/2012

Leave a Reply

