All-American/Non-American:

Standard

Saad Najam
I remember in middle school, my nickname became Saadam Hussein.
I used to wrap a towel around my head so they’d all laugh.
Their laughter used to ease the insults and pain
But i realize I wasn’t their friend, I was just their joke.
It was an early morning on tuesday.
I was a young 8 year old boy in the 3rd grade.
We look out the window and see what makes us all gasp
The plane strikes the towers and just like that they collapse.
But those 19 aren’t the only blamed for this evil
Because my teacher points at me and says it was done by “his people.”
My people?
Cuz they grew up basketball
Cuz their favorite food is pizza
Cuz they speak english
Cuz they were raised in brooklyn
Oh yeah I forgot. They’re my people because i’m muslim.
The next years became a little brown boys mental torture
Everywhere I go they call me terrorist and treat me like a foreigner.
Do you speak english good?
Yes i speak english well.
If one more person asks me that question, i’m swear i’m going to scream and yell
My boss asked me if i’m scared to assimilate to american traditions
I laughed because it just showed me this country’s disgusting condition.
It didn’t matter that I grew up here
All that matters is my skin is brown, and I have a beard.
To be american that means you have to be white.
Look at how people change themselves just so they could “fit” right.
Asians change their names
Indians refuse to speak their native language
Anybody that follows a religion doesn’t have a brain
Anybody who doesn’t change is a savage.
I refuse to change to what you want me to become
I thought america was where anything can be done.
But I guess i was wrong.
Because this country just keeps telling me I don’t belong
Land of the free and home of the brave?
More like change your “barbaric” ways and become our mental slaves.
I thought America was supposed to be a safe haven of freedom.
Freedom of speech, freedom of choice, freedom of religion.
But it seems like you americans have  lost that vision.
But i still have my perceptions
Not of this America where black kids in hoodies are killed or arrested
Or have to undergo procedures like stop and frisk inspections
And the ones who put on suits are socially accepted
Where “illegal immigrants” are seen as pests and
Can’t go to the doctor for any medicine or injections
Where” niggas” in the hood will never be offered proper careers and professions
Where to fit in the crowd you have to be your gender, race, color or creed’s exception
Where if you speak out against corruption you are stripped of your freedom of expression
And are subject to prejudice and oppression
Where intuitive thinking is seen as some sort of cranial defection
Where emulating white culture is considered the best thing
Where different skin, clothes, hair, and appearance is considered some sort of imperfection
But I have a dream of an America which is pure from its inception
Where from any bigotry we have a complete disconnection
Where instead of dropping bombs on other countries, we drop love and a great impression
Where we don’t teach our kids hate and difference, but we teach them unification and affection
Where it doesn’t matter what shade your complexion
Where evil ideas are always subject to correction
Of An America where we all live in contentment
Without all these lies racism and deception.
A country where when I have this towel on my head, they ask me how was my day and if I’m carrying a bomb is not the question.
This America is not some really some sort of far fetched invention
If we hurry, I think we still might have time for redemption
We can lead this country into the right direction
Where our social constructs become the closest to perfection.
I hope what I said has grabbed your attention
And that you all are undergoing some sort of self reflection
And that we’ve unified through some sort of mental connection
And building this America I speak of has become your next intention
My name is Saad Najam, I am a muslim illegal immigrant raised in New York and I am the epitome of American.
Saad Najam/2014
4 responses »

  1. Preach. Strong words elicit an even stronger response. There is a potential of excellence to the land we call home and this dialogue contributes to the means in which such a positive example can exist.

  2. Reblogged this on Promote Liberty and commented:
    I hope Mr. Saad Najam does not mind that I am reblogging this. Everything he says has unfortunately come true here in the USA. I hope this will help people reflect and understand the perspective from the other side. Let’s not just hate.

  3. Its like the beat of freedom is running through my head. His words are true and this is sad. I hope in his life he will forgive, the ignorance of others and meet people like us instead…

Leave a Reply

